Ween

Two founding members of Ween

One particularly older band that has caught my interest is Ween. The first time I heard them I was at my job that played a rock/indie Pandora music station. While working this song came on that was extremely catchy and unique, so I ran to the back of the store to look at the radio and it turned out to be the song Gabrielle by Ween. Never hearing of them and being a music fanatic, right when I got home I ran to the computer and looked them up.

Ween is a Rock band formed in New Hope, Pennsylvania in 1984. The two founding members, Aaron Freeman (Gene Ween) and Mickey Melchiondo (Dean Ween), met and created the band during their eighth grade typing class. During Ween’s early years most of their material was free-spirited and said to be inspired by different types of drugs they did. After releasing 5 cassette tapes in the late 80s, you heard me right…. cassette tapes, and gaining local recognition at bars in their home town, they finally caught the eye of a producer and were signed to Twin/Tone Records in 1989.

Under this record company they released their first record, The Oneness, which included 26 eclectic tracks. They went on to complete an astounding 11 studio albums. Within these 11 albums they changed record companies four times. Their last album was recorded in 2007 by the name of “La Cucaracha”. From 1990-2007 their songs were featured on different TV shows and movie soundtracks such as the soundtrack for the popular movie “Dude, Where’s my Car?” where the song “Freedom of 76′” was included. They also went on many tours during this time period.

In May of 2012 Freeman in an interview announced the end of Ween by saying “It’s been a long time, 25 years. It was a good run.” Other founding member Melchiondo seemed to be unaware of their breakup stating on his Facebook page: “This is news to me, all I can say for now I guess.” He went on to say that as long as both he and Freeman were on this planet Ween was not broken up, explaining the idea of breaking up as “laughable.” Later on Freeman went on to confirm the breakup once again explaining that he needed to focus on getting sober from a drug and alcohol problem, and as long as he was in Ween he couldn’t get sober. 

Overall even though they are broken up they are still a great band to listen to. Their music is timeless and very unique. All their songs are very different from each other and the voice of Freeman is one of the most unique sounds I have ever heard. I defiantly recommend this band to EVERYONE! 

Ween Offical Website —> http://www.ween.com/

Click the link to listen to their song Gabrielle –> http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EFbTbSsb6f0

 

November 14, 2012. Uncategorized.

2 Comments

  1. ernaab replied:

    I love finding new bands and your posts help me do just that! I generally love many different types of music, I love the moments when I can find underground bands that are just great. Ween sounds like a really interesting band and I’ll have to check them out! Also, I’ve heard of many bands breaking up due to members that had drug or alcohol problems, it’s terrible.

  2. slycuri replied:

    Wow i really wished i picked this topic when i was writing for my blogs, i love finding new music as well, and i enjoyed listening to these guys! If i may, I’ve been introduced to these guys recently and you might enjoy them! “Young The Giant” and their song “I Got”, Arctic Monkeys, The Smiths, The Strokes, Manchester Orchestra, The Black Keys, & John Mayer, awesome blog and awesome writing, i love how you talk about every artist in great detail, and the moments when you first listen to them and give you a desire to find who the hell this band is, is always an awesome feeling

Leave a comment

Trackback URI